NES Games I Beat # 64: Ghosts N’ Goblins
Ghosts
N’ Goblins was an early Capcom game for the NES, part of 1986 lineup, right
when the NES was moving beyond its Black Box Series of launch window games.
This version is often referred to as a gimped port of the arcade version and as
such its criticized for its sluggish play control and brutal difficulty, more
on those later. This game is infamous among the gaming public and hated by many
old school gamers. People put it with Battletoads, Mike Tyson’s Punchout, Dr.
Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and TMNT as one of the hardest games on the console. I’ve personally never seen past level one
until more recently when I decided to buckle down and dig in.
Starting
with the control, it does feel a tad sluggish. Jumping is slow, you don’t have
a lot momentum so often your jumps don’t feel wrong, and enemies are speedy and
shoot projectile attacks everywhere. Most people can’t even make it past the
first red devil midway through stage one as his swooping patterns are swift and
devious. He can be skipped, as can most, but eventually in the last level you’re
forced to fight one amidst other chaos and I think this is sort of a brilliant
thing from a design standpoint that right before you take on the penultimate
boss (two satans with a similar pattern to the demons) as it allows you to purge your fears and
finally forces you to kill it and get that satisfaction.
Honestly,
the difficulty of this game is overstated quite a bit. It’s hard sure but Ninja
Gaiden was a lot harder. While I beat the whole first 5 levels of the game in
one long night, the 6th and final level was the one that really kept
me from beating this game. Each stage had their challenge, the platforming in
level 2, the onslaught and marathon of devils that was level 3, the chaotic
bridge and dragon of level 4, the endurance round of challenging and misleading
paths in level 5, and of course the boss rush, the damn red devils, those
jumping skulls, the trolls wasting your valuable time, those fucking randomly
spawning ghosts and by God the weapons that if you grab your absolutely fucked
because you need the shield to not be trolled back two levels. 3 hits, 3
minutes, no checkpoints, git good or give up. A bit of luck is needed too, you
can get all the way to the end and have a ghost spawn on top of you or in the
boss room and die, having to do it all over. When you beat it, you’ll have it
down to a fucking science.
This
brings me to my main point, this game, like many hard games, is all about patience.
You have unlimited continues, it’s you and your sanity’s fault if you pussy
out. This game is beatable, you can do it! With a stage select code, something
built into the game so I don’t consider it a cheat, this game is completely
bearable. From a fun standpoint though, you’d do better to choose something
else. This game has fun elements but ultimately the frustration kills any real
want other than bragging rights to finish this game. It’s ultimately a rushed
port and thus not extremely well thought out. There’s not really a balance of
fun and frustration, its 85% dying in a lot of stupid ways like a bad jump, a
relentless enemy, or a fucking randomly spawning ghost and the other part is
somewhat enjoyable.
Overall this game’s reputation of being “one of the
hardest games ever” isn’t really true. Anybody can best it with some practice
and after all that’s how most old NES games were. It wasn’t that NES games were
unfairly hard by any means (in some ways they were but still) they just
expected you to have some time to invest so that you could master the mechanics
and levels. This is a somewhat fun game, I liked pushing through it to some
degree, but it’s incredibly flawed and feels very cheap at times. And yes,
before I get a bunch of hate, I know I only beat it once but fuck doing it all
again. I know it’s sort of a hard mode and gives you the real ending but I
couldn’t be bothered, I’ve got other games to play. It’ll basically be the same
experience anyway and well all know it’s one of the lamest gimmicks of all time
to have to beat a game twice for the real ending.
My
final score is a 6/10.

No comments:
Post a Comment